--- title: "Backing up and Restoring your VX Configuration" slug: "backing-up-and-restoring-your-vx-configuration" updated: 2024-12-19T07:26:51Z published: 2024-12-19T07:26:51Z canonical: "docs.telosalliance.com/backing-up-and-restoring-your-vx-configuration" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://docs.telosalliance.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # Backing up and Restoring your VX Configuration ## Scope It's always a good idea to backup your stuff. Here's an easy way to save your VX's configuration to a PC so it can be recalled in the future. ## Backup your Settings: 1. Connect to your VX's web interface using a browser 2. Navigate to the **System -> Backup/Restore** page 3. Under the **Backup** section of the Configuration Management web page, click **Backup Settings** This will tell your browser to begin downloading a *.XML file containing your VX's configuration. Check your firewall or browser download settings if not successful. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/57e3cd80-d493-453c-9672-ad1b043dadc3/Images/Documentation/e506cf9d-76c2-4506-aed4-f9d7c09a57ba-vx-backup.gif) > [!WARNING] > **Note:** Installed licenses are not included in the configuration backup! This does not apply to the 2RU fanless VX systems. If you have a VX Enterprise system with licensing, you'll also need to backup your licenses. ## Restore a VX Configuration: 1. Connect to your VX's web interface using a browser 2. Navigate to the **System -> Backup/Restore** page 3. Under the **Restore** section of the Configuration Management web page, click the **Browse** button. 4. Locate and select the appropriate backup *.XML file in your PC's file system and click **Open.** The name of the file you've selected will now appear next to the Browse button. 5. After confirming that the file name shown is correct, click the **Restore Settings** button. ![](https://cdn.document360.io/57e3cd80-d493-453c-9672-ad1b043dadc3/Images/Documentation/85632534-4b72-401a-ba1e-010ebadd31f7.png) > [!WARNING] > If you have already given the VX all of its final IP address information, check the **Keep current network settings** checkbox. If you would like the VX to use the network configuration from the backup, uncheck this box. You may lose connection to the VX if the computer you are using for configuration is on a different subnet than the VX post restore.